Every Moment Matters

teach from the heart

“The best part of teaching is that it matters. The hardest part of teaching is that every moment matters, every day.”

Todd Whitaker

I love this quote. It reminds me why I teach. More importantly, it reminds me that the best things in life require hard work.

At first I thought of it purely from an instructional standpoint – every minute of every class period matters.

But on second thought, I looked at it from a relationship standpoint – every interaction with every student matters, every day.

Oh, I learned early on that being unprepared creates chaos that throws off the whole day, but I also learned that the relationships you build with students carry a lot more weight than most people realize. As Rita Pierson puts it, “Kids don’t learn from people they don’t like.”

I don’t want to downplay the academics of teaching. You have to be prepared. We’ve…

View original post 452 more words

Leave a Reply

