Don’t leave home without these 8 items if you have kids!!

  1. At least 1 coat or sweater per child..and keep it in the trunk.
  2. Small first aid kit or box of bandaids. I went a few months without opening the box and then out of nowhere I’ve used them and my daughter has needed them within the past 3 weeks! So glad I had them in the glove box!
  3. Extra plastic grocery bags. I actually have a small trash bag that sits in the back with my daughter, at her feet, and it has a small container on the side for extra.
  4. Sunglasses. My daughter ALWAYS forgets hers so it’s nice to have an extra pair that stays in the car.
  5. Tissues, tissues, and more tissues!! I have a box of Kleenex that sits in the back seat on the floor and I also have the individual packages in the glove box (and center console) for backups. Unfortunately, my daughter gets a lot of nosebleeds so these come in handy. (I really should buy stock in them!)
  6. Nail clippers. I thought about keeping a pair of scissors in the car, but they are too big and just not that safe with small children. So I keep a pair of nail clippers in my center console for any time that I need to cut something. I use them a lot when we buy something at the store that has a plastic ring and we want to use it right away.
  7. A small emergency toy bag. If we’re going out for the day running errands, even if it’s just 1 errand, I have my daughter pack a small backpack of toys and snacks. This way if the errand(s) take longer than expected she doesn’t get bored and I keep my sanity (I’ll take all the help I can get!)!
  8. I also keep a towel in the trunk of my car. You never when there’s an accidental spill or a spur of the moment trip to the water park now that the temps in Vegas have passed 100! 🙂

I have a small bin in my trunk where I keep most of these items. This keeps my trunk clutter free and things don’t go flying all over the place! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Don’t leave home without these 8 items if you have kids!!

  1. Great advice! A couple of years ago I was with a friend who said, “I wish I had a banana.” I reached into my purse and handed them a fresh banana! That happens when you’ve been a Mom for as many years as I. You’re purse becomes a magician’s hat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

