The Magic of a Snow Day in the South

Since I live in Las Vegas and the weather is sunny 65, I wanted to step into the world where there actually 4 seasons…although I am happy to take my 65 over the cold white stuff that is causing so much chaos!

Mom in the Muddle

Snow day. When I was a kid, those words were like music to my ears. I didn’t hear them often growing up near the southern coast of Virginia. We didn’t have snow boots or snow pants or even a sled. When it snowed, we just put on tights under our jeans and played outside until our skin stung. I’d peel off wet layers to reveal cold, red legs that could only be warmed by pj’s and blankets and playing Barbies on my shag carpet.

When I was really little, I wore my Snoopy rubber rain boots in the snow, the ones that said “Good” on the left foot and “Grief” on the right, except I could never remember whether it was “Good Grief” or “Grief Good.” I wasn’t a Snoopy fan really. The snow was pretty deep one year and when I ran, those rubber boots stayed in the…

View original post 455 more words

Leave a Reply

